Katharina Wincor © Andrej Griilc
Festkonzert • Symphonische Kammermusik
Chamber ensemble of the Vienna Philharmonic, Katharina Wincor
Arnold Schönberg Center
Tuesday, 26 March 2024
6.30 pm
Katharina Wincor © Andrej Griilc

Honorary patron Federal President Alexander Van der Bellen

Chamber ensemble with members of the Vienna Philharmonic
Katharina Wincor conductor

Arnold SCHÖNBERG Kammersymphonie op. 9; Pelleas und Melisande op. 5 (arr. Levi Hammer)

Tickets € 28 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

The symphonic poem “Pelleas und Melisande” is Schönberg’s contribution to the four-movement symphony – although the genre is not explicitly indicated in the title. Levi Hammer’s new arrangement allows a direct comparison with the Chamber Symphony, op. 9, in which the large symphonic form is compressed into a rapidly unfolding development of a wide variety of themes that barely lasts twenty minutes. A wonderful performance of these important 20th-century works by the Wiener Philharmoniker and the young conductor Katharina Wincor is guaranteed.

Cooperation with the Vienna Philharmonic