Jean-Bernard Matter © Julia Dragosits
Atemzüge und Tanzschritte | Breaths and dance steps
Webern Ensemble Wien, Jean-Bernard Matter
Arnold Schönberg Center
Tuesday, 19 March 2024
6.30 pm
Jean-Bernard Matter © Julia Dragosits

Webern Ensemble Wien
Jean-Bernard Matter

Arnold SCHÖNBERG Suite op. 29
Anton WEBERN Streichquartett op. 28
Gérard GRISEY Vortex Temporum

Free admission

Gérard Grisey’s “Vortex Temporum” has already become a classic of 20th-century music a quarter of a century after its creation. A wealth of musical material gradually develops from a harmonic environment based on microintervals, and continues to unfold anew as if in the rhythm of regular breathing. Schönberg’s twelve-tone Suite, op. 29 embodies a completely different character. By incorporating dance movements, the composer was inspired by the popular music of his time.

Cooperation with mdw – University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna